UNESCO has just recognized 4 more natural heritages, 2 cultural heritages and a mixed heritage.

1. Migratory bird sanctuary, China

The tidal swamp area on the coast of Hoang Hai, Bohai Bay is home to many species of fish and crustaceans. This is also the focus of migratory birds on the East Asia – Australia route. Large flocks of birds, including endangered species, come to the coast to rest, moult, winter and nest. Photo: Xinhua.

2. Hyrcanian forest, Iran

Hyrcanian forest is a broad leaf forest covering 850 km along the southern shore of the Caspian Sea. About 25 to 50 million years ago, the forest covered most of the temperate zone in the northern hemisphere. After shrinking during the Fourth Ice Age, the forest expanded again as the climate became more moderate.

Today, the Hyrcanian is home to 180 species of birds, 58 species of mammals, including the Persian leopard and rare plant species. Photo: Tehran Times.

3. Southern land and sea, France

The land and sea south of France, including Crozet, Kerguelen, Saint-Paul, Amsterdam and 60 islands in Antarctica, is one of four new natural heritage sites recognized by UNESCO in the working session on July 5. . With an area of ​​more than 67 million hectares, the area is home to the largest concentration of birds and mammals, especially the largest number of emperor penguins and albatrosses in the world. Photo: Picdeer.

4. Vatnajökull National Park, Iceland

The park is 1.4 hectares wide – accounting for 14% of Iceland’s territory. It has 10 volcanoes and 8 glaciers, possesses the largest iceberg Vatnajökull and Iceland’s highest mountain Hvannadalshnjúkur (2,109 m). In addition, the area also owns many natural landscapes such as Askjia Caldera crater lake, Herðubreið oasis, Dettifoss waterfall, Ásbyrgi ice canyon.

5. Paraty and Ilha Grande, Brazil

Paraty and Ilha Grande have just become a new UNESCO mixed heritage thanks to culture and biodiversity. Located between the Serra da Bocaina mountain range and the Atlantic Ocean, Paraty is one of Brazil’s best-preserved coastal towns and one of the five most important biodiversity areas of the world. It is also the habitat of some threatened species such as jaguars, white-laced pigs and spider monkeys.

At the end of the 17th century, Paraty was the end of Caminho do Ouro, the gold transport route to Europe and also the region where the African slave trade was held. Today, the Paraty cultural center retains colonial architecture from the 18th and 19th centuries. Photo: Fondos de Pantalla.

6. Ancient metallurgical area, Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso’s new world cultural heritage comprises five villages and towns in provinces across Africa. In particular, Douroula is the oldest evidence of metallurgical development in Burkina Faso. The remaining places are Tiwêga, Yamané, Kindibo and Békuy. Although iron ore mining is no longer common today, blacksmiths still play an important role in traditional rituals. Photo: Corriere.

7. Babylon, Iraq Located 85 km south of Baghdad, Iraq’s new world cultural heritage is home to the ruins of the capital of Neo-Babylon, one of the most influential empires in the ancient world. Great. The rest of the heritage consists of walls, gates, palaces, temples of the old city. Along with the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the heritage represents the creation of the ancient empire at its peak, which was once the inspiration for art and religious culture in the world.

You May Also Like